The University of Liège has one of the top corporate networks in Wallonia.

blank-1000x400 copie

T

his equipment includes a fibre-optic backbone with a capacity of several times 10 Gbps covering the entire domain of Sart Tilman and the buildings of the City Centre, high-speed liaison to remote sites, double access to the Internet at 10 Gbps (through Belnet), 25,000 wired connection points, 1,100 WiFi hotspots!

As a University, our network must offer very high security while maintaining openness to the world. This challenge is carried out through a double securing: the global one at the junction between the network and the Internet; the other, using the segmentation of networks attached to the backbone, in "differentiated areas" for which incoming and outgoing traffic filtering rules can be modulated according to local requirements.

These features allow for the implementation of advanced applications: telephony over IP, video streaming, video conferencing, podcasting...

Through the simple request of their ULiège identifier and password, enabling them to access various network services, the user is subject to Internet user regulations, and in particular, of its Belgian component reserved for teaching and research: the federal infrastructure, BELNET. The user therefore agrees to respect the ethics of Internet access for ULiège staff.

Wireless network

Since September 2006, ULiège has a WiFi network, completely overhauled in 2013, with more than 1,100 terminals and covering all the campus buildings. This network offers a "HotSpot" connection mode (Guest, previously ULg-Open) and a secure connection mode (ULg-Secure). The use of these networks requires identity validation based on the ULiège ID and password (members of staff and students). User-visitors can request, via the UDI concerned, the attribution of a temporary account for the duration of their stay on the campus.

More information

Since September 2007, we participate in the "eduroam" project enabling each member of an institution participating in the project (higher learning or research institution) to log onto the secure wireless network of any other partner institution, by means of their home ID (username and password), without any other prior administrative measure.

More information

Other means of accessing the network

Access to the network is also possible through public RJ-45 sockets available in certain public rooms. They allow students to connect their laptop to ULiège's wired network (the computer must be equipped with an Ethernet card configured in DHCP for dynamic assignment of parameters).

A VPN service is offered to members of staff and students so as to provide access to certain protected resources from outside of the ULiège network.

More information

Share this page

L'Université de Liège dispose de l'un des premiers réseaux d'entreprise en importance de Wallonie.

blank-1000x400 copie

Cet équipement comprend une dorsale en fibres optiques d'une capacité de plusieurs fois 10 Gbps couvrant l'ensemble du domaine du Sart Tilman et les bâtiments du Centre-Ville, liaison à haut débit vers les sites distants, double accès à Internet à 10 Gbps (au travers de Belnet), 25.000 points de connexion filaires, 1.100 points d'accès WiFi !

En tant qu'université, notre réseau se doit d'offrir une très haute sécurisation tout en gardant une très grande ouverture sur le monde. Cette gageure est réalisée par une double sécurisation, l'une globale à la jonction entre le réseau et Internet, l'autre à l'aide de la segmentation des réseaux attachés à la dorsale, en "zones différenciées" pour lesquelles les règles de filtrage des trafics entrant et sortant peuvent être modulées selon les impératifs locaux.

Ces caractéristiques permettent la mise en œuvre d'applications de pointe : téléphonie sur IP, streaming vidéo, visioconférence, Podcasting...

Du simple fait de sa demande d'identifiant et mot de passe ULiège, lui permettant d'accéder à divers services réseau, l'utilisateur est soumis à la réglementation d'usage de l'Internet et particulièrement de sa composante belge réservée à l'enseignement et à la recherche : l'infrastructure fédérale BELNET. Il s'engage donc à respecter la déontologie d'accès Internet pour le personnel ULiège.   

Réseau sans fil

Depuis la rentrée 2006, ULiège s'est dotée d'un réseau WiFi, entièrement modernisé en 2013, comptant plus de 1.100 bornes et couvrant l'ensemble des bâtiments du campus. Ce réseau propose un mode de connexion "HotSpot" (Guest, précédemment ULg-Open) et un mode de connexion sécurisé (ULg-Secure). L'usage de ces réseaux requiert une validation d'identité basée sur l'identifiant et le mot de passe ULiège (membres du personnel et étudiants). Les utilisateurs-visiteurs peuvent demander, via l'UDI concernée, l'attribution d'un compte temporaire pour la durée de leur séjour sur le campus.

plus d'informations

Depuis la rentrée 2007, nous participons au projet "eduroam" permettant à tout membre d'une institution participant au projet (établissement d'enseignement supérieur ou de recherche) de se connecter au réseau sans fil sécurisé de toute autre institution partenaire, à l'aide de son identification d'origine (nom d'utilisateur et mot de passe), sans aucune démarche administrative préalable.

plus d'informations

Autres moyens d'accès au réseau

L'accès au réseau est également réalisable à l'aide de prises RJ-45 publiques disponibles dans certaines salles publiques. Elles permettent aux étudiants de connecter leur ordinateur portable au réseau filaire de l'ULiège (l'ordinateur doit être équipé d'une carte Ethernet configurée en DHCP pour attribution dynamique des paramètres).

Un service VPN est offert aux membres du personnel et aux étudiants de manière à permettre l'accès à certaines ressources protégées à partir de l'extérieur du réseau ULiège.

plus d'informations

Contact

Partagez cette page