L1 · Museum and cultural center, Fonds Simenon and Faculty of Architecture
GPS Coordinates to access this building :
Longitude: 5° 34' 53.3022" (5.581473137106286) - Latitude: 50° 38' 18.3294" (50.63842507902245)
L1 · Museum and cultural center, Fonds Simenon and Faculty of Architecture
Liège city Centre Campus - Outremeuse zone
Place Delcour 17
4020 Liège
To draw up plans for the Physiology building, architect Noppius enlisted the help of no less a scientist than Léon Frédéricq (1851-1935).
The latter combined his professional experience with the options chosen by other universities, notably in Germany, to propose concrete projects to the academic authorities. Plans accepted, work progressed rapidly and Frédéricq moved his departments into their new premises in 1888. Situated at the corner of Place Delcour, the vast architectural complex (1100 m²) was largely destroyed in a bombing raid in December 1944; it was rebuilt in 1945 and then redesigned on several occasions (in 1950, 1960 and 1963). In keeping with Noppius' choice, the facades are in the neo-classical style.
Today, the former Institute of Physiology houses the Pôle muséal et culturel, the Fonds Simenon, and the Faculty of Architecture.
Building nearby :
- E1 · Faculty of Architecture | Fonck site
- I1 · Institute of Zoology
- L3 - Former Institute of Anatomy / Institut Supérieur des Langues Vivantes (ISLV)
- L5 · Language training centre

